ECC Spring Sports Season Updates / Honors


BASEBALL:  Kings won its first ECC baseball championship this spring, finishing league play with an impressive 12-2 record.  Congratulations to the Knights!  Kings' Tyler Gambill earned Player of the Year honors, while the Knights' Kevin McClung received Coach of the Year accolades.  POSTSEASON UPDATES:   District Final match-ups are as follows:  Turpin vs. Badin today at Oak Hills HS at 5 pm.

SOFTBALL:  West Clermont captured its second straight ECC crown, finishing the league schedule with a 13-1 record.  The Lady Wolves have posted a 24-4 record in league play the past two seasons.  Milford's Katelyn Reynolds earned Player of the Year recognition, while Coach of the Year honors went to West Clermont's Kelly Throckmorton.

BOYS' TRACK:  The 2019 ECC Championship trophy will reside at Kings, after the Knights outdistanced runner-up Turpin to win their first track and field title since 2016.  POSTSEASON UPDATES:  Kings finished third overall at the District Meet.  The following ECC athletes were District Champions and advanced to the Regional Meet:  Withrow's Shemar Pinnock (100 and 200 meters), Kings' Alex Justus (new meet record in the 800 meters) and Zac Howard (high jump), Turpin's Gabe Hickman (shot put), and Loveland's Cooper Smeller (pole vault).  Complete DI District results can be found HERE.  Top four finishers in each event advanced to the Regional Meet at Wayne HS which concludes today.

GIRLS' TRACK:  The Lady Tigers of Loveland won their first ECC girls' track and field championship, finishing ahead of runner-up Turpin.  POSTSEASON UPDATES:  Loveland placed third in the team standings at the District Meet.  ECC District Champions were as follows:  Anderson's Alaina Sullivan (100 and 200 meters), Turpin's Sam Bush (1600 and 3200 meters) and Lauren Steele (shot put), Milford's Andrea Armstrong (400 meters), and Loveland's Zoe Ott (discus).  Complete DI District results can be found HERE.  The top four finishers in each event advanced to today's Regional Meet at Wayne HS.

BOYS' TENNIS:  The Loveland Tigers won both the regular season and the ECC tournament titles on their way to their first ECC boys' tennis championship since the 2012-2013 season!  Shout out to our ECC Coach of the Year Jeff Sharpless and his squad.  The Tigers' Connor Ruble earned Player of the Year recognition.  POSTSEASON UPDATES:  Turpin's Patrick Wantz and Andrew Kissel and Loveland's Alex Ditchen and Matt Huether advanced to Districts in doubles, as did singles players Josh Lee from Kings and Connor Ruble from Loveland. 

BOYS' LACROSSE:  Kings came away with the conference championship (the Knights' second in three years), finishing the season with a 5-0 ECC record.  Kings' Jake Stylski earned Player of the Year recognition and Walnut Hills' Howard Miller received Coach of the Year honors. 

GIRLS' LACROSSE:  The ladies from Kings captured their first-ever ECC title with a perfect 5-0 record in ECC matches.  Player of the Year accolades went to Loveland's Hanna Wenger, while Coach of the Year recognition went to Kings' Tim Bilbrey

BOYS' VOLLEYBALL:  Although the ECC doesn't officially sponsor boys' volleyball, our conference typically fares well in regular and postseason action.  Loveland had a deep tournament run last spring, and Walnut Hills finished the regular season at 15-5 and 6-0 against ECC squads this spring.  Check out complete team records HEREPOSTSEASON UPDATES:  Loveland and Walnut Hills each lost in the Regional semis to wrap up great seasons by both teams!  POSTSEASON AWARDS:  Congratulations to Walnut Hills' Dominic Hagerty for being named the All-Region Player of the Year!  Other All-Region awards went to (First Team) Loveland's Jace Niven and Nate Johnson, Walnut Hills' Owen Vogelpohl, Milford's Caleb Cambron, and West Clermont's Kyle Rees.  Honorable Mention honors went to Milford's Jake Pearson and Jacob Downs, Walnut Hills' Tre Harris and Calvin Bigham, and Loveland's Eric Keldsen.