ECC Fall Postseason Updates / Honors


BOYS' GOLF:   ECC UPDATES:  The Milford Eagles captured the overall ECC title, highlighted by their championship in the ECC Tournament.  Tournament Medalists honors went to the Eagles' Nathan Arnold, who shot an even-par 72 at Glenview Golf Course.  Player of the Year honors went to Loveland's Isaac Vock, while Coach of the Year honors went to Milford's Phil Sheldon.  POSTSEASON UPDATES/HONORS:   Loveland placed in a third place tie at Sectionals and advanced to Districts.  Isaac Vock captured Medalist honors with a four-under par 68.  Other team members included Austin Osborne, Mitchell Wagner, Drew Docherty, and Jack Garry.  Individuals to advance to Districts included Anderson's Hartley Stevenson, Milford's Nathan Arnold, and Glen Este's Thomas Zink.

GIRLS' GOLF:   ECC UPDATES:  Milford also captured the girls' overall Conference title behind a strong first place finish in the ECC Tournament.  Kings' Alexandra Swayne captured Tournament Medalist honors with a 77 at Bel-Wood Country Club.  All-Conference awards went to Milford's Megan Creager (Player of the Year) and Kings' Kathy Abrell and Milford's Sandy Garrison (Coaches of the Year).  POSTSEASON UPDATES/HONORS:  In Sectional play, the Milford Lady Eagles placed fourth and advanced to District competition at Weatherwax Golf Course.  Team members included Megan Creager, Abby Swensen, Chelsea Nagy, Rachel Berger, and Maggie Engelman.  Individual District qualifiers included Walnut Hills' Katie Hallinan and Kings' Alexandra Swayne.  STATE-BOUND:  Congratulations to both Megan and Katie for advancing to the State Golf Tournament!

GIRLS' TENNIS:  ECC UPDATES:  The ECC Tournament was held on September 26 with the Walnut Hills Lady Eagles capturing the tourney title, as well as the Conference championship.  The Eagles' Lilly O'Toole was named Player of the Year, while Walnut's Steve Levine earned Coach of the Year recognition.  POSTSEASON UPDATES/HONORS:  First-day Sectional action saw Milford's Amanda Rinehart and Walnut Hills' Lilly O'Toole advance to Districts in singles play, as did the Turpin doubles teams of Ellen Antoniades and Abby Toerner and KatieBercz and Gabby VerdinSTATE-BOUND:  Congratulations to Katie and Gabby, who advanced to State Tennis Tournament this fall!

BOYS' SOCCER:  ECC UPDATES:  Congratulations to Walnut Hills for winning the Conference title and to the Eagles' Daniel Bundschuh for earning Player of the Year honors.  Coach of the Year honors went to Walnut's Eric Rothwell.  POSTSEASSON UPDATES/HONORS:  The Walnut Hills Eagles won the Sectional championship before falling 1-0 in the District finals!  Ohio Scholastic Soccer Coaches' Association (OSSCA) All-State honors went to Walnut Hills' Daniel Bundschuh and Loveland's Ryan Melink (Second Team).  The complete list can be found HERE.

GIRLS' SOCCER:   ECC UPDATES:  Hats off to the Loveland Lady Tigers for capturing the Conference title!  Player of the Year honors went to Corynne Swift (Loveland) and Maryellen Tully (Turpin), while Coach of the Year went to Loveland's Todd Kelly.  POSTSEASON UPDATES/HONORS:  Turpin won both the Sectional and District championships and advanced to the October 28 Regional semi-final match.  In that match, the Lady Spartans defeated Centerville 2-1 in overtime to advance to the Regional finals against Mason.  In the Regional finals, the Lady Spartans' magical postseason run came to an end in a 2-0 loss to the Lady Comets.  Ohio Scholastic Soccer Coaches' Association All-Ohio recognition went to Loveland's Corynne Swift (First Team) and Kings' Patrice DiPasquale and Turpin's Maryellen Tully (Second Team).  The complete list can found HERE.

VOLLEYBALL:  ECC UPDATES:  Congratulations to both Anderson and Turpin for winning the ECC championship!  Anderson's Megan Lemberg was named Player of the Year, while Coach of the Year honors went to Kathy Carboy (Turpin) and Jeff Davis (Anderson).  POSTSEASON UPDATES/HONORS:  TBA

BOYS' CROSS COUNTRY:   ECC UPDATES:  Congratulations to the Turpin Spartans for capturing the ECC title!  The individual winner was Luke Widdig from Kings, who was also named Runner of the Year!  For complete results, click HERE.  Turpin's Marshall Remmele was named Coach of the Year.  POSTSEASON UPDATES/HONORS:  Turpin advanced to the Regional Meet as a team on the strength of the Spartans' fourth place finish at Districts.  Individual Regional qualifiers included Anderson's Josh Gittelman and Nick Stone.  District results can be found HERE and HERE for Division I.  DI Regional results can be found HERE.

GIRLS' CROSS COUNTRY:  ECC UPDATES:  The Conference championship went to the Lady Spartans of Turpin.  The individual race winner was the Lady Spartans' Olivia Connaughton, who was named Runner of the Year.  For complete results, click HERE.  Coach of the Year honors went to Turpin's Melissa Siemers.  POSTSEASON UPDATES/HONORS:  In District competition, Walnut Hills advanced to the Regional Meet as a team, based on the Lady Eagles' second place finish.  Individual Regional qualifiers included Olivia Connaughton and Turpin teammate Rachel Scardina, along with Kings' Hannah Rasmussen and Anderson's Cara Schildmeyer.  Complete District results can be found HERE and HERE for Division I.  DI Regional results can be found HERE.

FOOTBALL:   ECC UPDATES:  The ECC championship went to the Kings Knights, who posted a perfect regular season record of 10-0 overall and 7-0 in the Conference!  The Knights' DeAndre Barnett (Offensive) and Blake Bockrath (Defensive) were named Players of the Year, while Kings' Andy Olds earned Coach of the Year honors.  POSTSEASON UPDATES/HONORS:  The OHSAA playoffs featured a pair of ECC squads - Kings and Glen Este.  The Trojans fell to LaSalle in round one, while the Knights defeated Northwest 42-7 to advance to round two against Mt. Healthy.  Read more HERE.  The Knights fell to the Owls to finish their remarkable season at 11-1.  AP All-District squads were announced in mid-November, and the ECC was once again well represented.  First Team honors went to Kings' Jacob Bedinghaus, DeAndre Barnett, Adam Woeste, Blake Bockrath, Milford's Ben Greenwell, and Loveland's Luke Waddell and Jake Saunders.  Second Team recognition went to Loveland's Evan Burig, Turpin's Lang Evans, and Withrow's Kymari Gates.  Special Mention honors went to Glen Este's Tyler Pilcher, Clayton McCuneJacob Hamilton, Zach Vespie, Nathan Stone, Peyton Burdick, Kings' Tyler Knecht, Tommy Bruns, Josh Rayman, Loveland's Giovanni Ricci, Michael Ralph, Colton Lakes, Milford's Dominick Hathaway, Withrow's Tra'von Barnes, and Anderson's Austin Fucito.  Congratulations!  See the entire list HERE.  AP All-State honors went to the following ECC players:  Ben Greenwell from Milford (Division I) and Blake Bockrath from Kings (Division II) each earned Second Team honors, while Jacob Bedinghaus from Kings earned Third Team honors.  Division II Special Mention recognition went to DeAndre Barnett and Adam Woeste from Kings, along with Loveland's Jake Saunders and Luke Waddell.  Congratulations!  See the complete list HERE.

Another honor was announced just after Christmas, as the Kings' football squad ranked sixth in the state in team GPA and earned All-State Academic recognition.  To be more specific, that's sixth out of over 700 football-playing schools in Ohio!  Congratulations to Coach Olds and the entire Knights' program!